Posted on by jdoerck | Posted in Review | Tagged

The Dither Guitar Quartet comprises four New York City-based experimental guitarists who together create a sound aptly described in Elliott Sharp’s CD liner notes as “beautifully violent strangeness.” Taylor Levine, David Linaburg, Joshua Lopes, and James Moore wend their way through works by Lainie Fefferman, Jascha Narveson, Lisa R. Coons, Eric km Clark, and Lopes that traverse tonal territories from starkly sparse to quirkily rhythmic to gently dissonant to stridently chaotic. Brilliantly realized but not for melody seekers or the musically faint of heart.